Civil Air Patrol
  • Aircrew returing to base

Mid-Atlantic Region “Of the Year” Awards

April 7, 2021 – GRANITE, Md. – Maryland Wing extends its congratulations to the following Civil Air Patrol airmen for winning this year’s annual Mid-Atlantic Region (MAR) “Of the Year” award recipients (with designated unit):

AFSA Cadet NCO of the Year: C/CMSgt Dominic John Evanina (National Capital Wing)

John V. Sorenson Cadet Program’s Officer of the Year: Maj Tammy Hallihan (North Carolina Wing)

Character Development Instructor of the Year: Lt Col Gary W. Gourley Sr. (West Virginia Wing)

Communicator of the Year: Lt Col Boykin M. Roseborough (South Carolina Wing)

Finance Officer of the Year: 1st Lt Virginia S. Brown (West Virginia Wing)

Col Dion E. Decamp Ground Team of the Year: College Park Composite Squadron (Maryland Wing)

Col Lester E. Hopper Wing Historian of the Year: CMSgt Thomas B. Reed (Maryland Wing)

Col Edwin W. Lewis Jr. Incident Staff Member of the Year: Capt. Robert O. Call III (North Carolina Wing)

Inspector General of the Year: Lt Col Scott B. Harris (Maryland Wing)

George Texido Legislative Officer of the Year: Lt Col Manuel F. Vega (National Capital Wing)

Professional Development Officer of the Year: Maj Kathleen Nicholas (North Carolina Wing)

Property Management Officer of the Year: Maj Theodore R. Warnock (Virginia Wing)

Col Robert V. Payton Public Affairs Officer of the Year: Capt Rachael J. Mercer (South Carolina Wing)

Safety Officer of the Year: Lt Col Christopher A. Duemmel (North Carolina Wing)

Chaplain of the Year: Chaplain (Lt Col) Timothy H. Miner (Virginia Wing)

Senior of the Year: Maj Martin B. Heller (North Carolina Wing)

Cadet of the Year: C/Lt Col Laura C. Midkiff (Maryland Wing)

Maj Gen Wheless Legal Officer of the Year: Lt Col Joseph W. Mazel (National Capital Wing)

Col David Kantor Operations Staff Officer of the Year: Capt Peter F. Castine (National Capital Wing)

Lt Col T. Keith Riddle Aircrew Member of the Year: Capt Charles D. Nicholas (Maryland Wing)

MG J. Holm Aerospace Education Officer of the Year: 1st Lt Robert J. Roberts (South Carolina Wing)

Information Technologies Officer of the Year: Maj Michael J. Miller (Mid-Atlantic Region)

Frank G. Brewer Memorial Aerospace Award- Cadet: C/Maj Oliver M. Hewitt-Qualls (Virginia Wing)

Frank G. Brewer Memorial Aerospace Award – Senior Member: Capt Rachael S. Norberg (National Capital Wing)

Frank G. Brewer Memorial Aerospace Award – Individual/Organization: Manassas Region Airport (Virginia Wing)

Frank G. Brewer Memorial Aerospace Award – Lifetime Achievement: Lt Col Paul A. Willard II (Virginia Wing)


More than 1,200 members serve in Civil Air Patrol’s Maryland Wing. Last year, wing members flew 13 actual search and rescue missions. Overall, the Maryland Wing flew 32 missions for the State of Maryland, flying 2,245 hours in all mission categories, and was credited with four finds. Volunteers contributed services estimated at $4.6 million. For information, contact the Maryland Wing at or follow the wing on Facebook.

Established in 1941, Civil Air Patrol is the official auxiliary of the U.S. Air Force and as such is a member of its Total Force. In its auxiliary role, CAP operates a fleet of 560 single-engine Cessna aircraft and more than 2,000 small Unmanned Aircraft Systems (sUAS) and performs about 90% of all search and rescue operations within the contiguous United States as tasked by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center. Often using innovative cellphone forensics and radar analysis software, CAP was credited by the AFRCC with saving 130 lives during the past fiscal year. CAP’s 54,000 members also perform homeland security, disaster relief and drug interdiction missions at the request of federal, state and local agencies. As a nonprofit organization, CAP plays a leading role in aerospace education using national academic standards-based STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) education. Members also serve as mentors to over 20,000 young people participating in CAP’s Cadet Programs. Visit www.CAP.News or for more information.


Prepared by: 1st Lt. Jeffrey Robertson, MDWG PAO,

© 2015 Maryland Wing. All rights reserved. | Web hosting provided by Dreamhost